2016 Soul Train Awards: Brandy (@4everBrandy) & Teddy Riley (@TeddyRiley1) Receive Honors!

It’s that time of year again where the who’s who in R&B and Soul music gather together to celebrate their achievements. Yep, you guessed it. The red carpet was rolled out for the 2016 Soul Train Music Awards. This year’s special honorees were Brandy and Teddy Riley. 

The award show was held in Las Vegas, Nevada and was hosted by the one and only Erykah Badu. The “Call Tyrone” singer was a great host as she demonstrated to the audience that she could go from comedian to performer and back to host with the greatest of ease.

Teyana TaylorThe night was full of dynamic performances. Sisqo and Dru Hill opened up the show with a performance that made you want to jump on stage and dance. Other performers of the night included Anderson.Paak, Bobby Brown, D.R.A.M., Ma$e, Doug E. Fresh, India Arie, BJ The Chicago Kid, Guy, Candice Boyd, Carl Thomas, Eric Benèt, Major, Ro James, Tito Jackson, V. Bozeman, Wreckx-n-Effect, and Yuna. The guests of honor, Teddy Riley, and Brandy also had stellar performances.

The return of the Soul Cypher was a big hit of the show last night. The participants this year included Tyrese, Gladys Knight, Angie Stone, and Ne-yo with Ms. Badu being the DJ.

Brandy And Teddy Riley Perform Their Hits

Singer BrandyAnother highlight of the night was Brandy being presented with the Lady of Soul Award. Before receiving the prestigious award Brady wowed the audience by performing some of her greatest hits. Brandy performed hits such as “I Wanna Be Down”, “The Boy Is Mine”, and “Full Moon”. Before Brandy was presented with her award, she was presented with a video tribute from Babyface, Jazmine Sullivan, and Jhene Aiko.

R&B group Bell Biv Devoe (BBD)Teddy Riley was also honored during the show as well and was  presented with the Soul Train Legend Award. Riley also received a star-studded tribute which included performances by Guy, Bobby Brown, Doug E. Fresh, Wreckx-N-Effect, V. Bozeman, and Tito Jackson. Riley and his crew closed out the night with their jam-packed performance.

And The Winners Are….

You can check out the complete list of winners below:

Best New Artist

Anderson .Paak

Andra Day

Bryson Tiller

Chance The Rapper — WINNER

Ro James

Tory Lanez

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Anthony Hamilton

Bryson Tiller

Maxwell — WINNER

The Weeknd


Centric Certified Award

After 7

Anderson .Paak — WINNER


Lalah Hathaway

Musiq Soulchild

Video of the Year

Beyoncé, “Formation” — WINNER

Beyoncé, “Sorry”

Drake, “Hotline Bling”

Kanye West, “Fade”

Rihanna feat. Drake, “Work”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Song

Donnie McClurkin, “I Need You”

Hezekiah Walker, “Better”

Kirk Franklin, “123 Victory” — WINNER

Tamela Mann, “God Provides”

Travis Greene, “Made A Way”

R&B singer Angie StoneAlbum/Mixtape of the Year

Beyoncé, Lemonade — WINNER

Bryson Tiller, T R A P S O U L

DJ Khaled, Major Key

Drake, Views

Kanye West, The Life of Pablo

Rihanna, Anti

Rhythm & Bars Award (Formerly Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year)

Chance the Rapper feat. Lil Wayne and 2 Chainz, “No Problem”

DJ Khaled feat. Drake, “For Free”

Drake, “Controlla”

Drake feat. Wizkid and Kyla, “One Dance”

Fat Joe & Remy Ma feat. French Montana and Infared, “All the Way Up” — WINNER

Brandy and Jill ScottBest R&B/Soul Female Artist

Alicia Keys

Beyoncé — WINNER


Jill Scott


Song of the Year

Adele, “Hello”

Beyoncé, “Formation” — WINNER

Bryson Tiller, “Don’t”

Drake, “Controlla”

Rihanna feat. Drake, “Work”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Hello,” written by Adele Laurie Blue Adkins, Gregory Allen Kurstin (Adele)

“Rise Up,” written by Andra Day, Jennifer Decilveo (Andra Day) — WINNER

“Formation,” written by Michael L. Williams Li, Beyoncé Knowles, Khalif Brown, Aaquil Brown, Asheton Hogan, (Beyoncé)

“Don’t,” written by Johntá M. Austin, Mariah Carey, Bryan-Michael Cox, Jermaine Dupri, Tavoris Javon Hollins, Isom Brandon Stewart, Bryson Dejuan Tiller (Bryson Tiller)

“Needed Me,” written by Nicholas Valentino Audino, Rachel Derrus, Adam King Feeney, Robyn R. Fenty, Brittany Talia Hazzard, Charles Hinshaw Jr., Lewis Beresford Hughes, Dijon Isaiah Mcfarlane, Khaled Rohaim, Te Whiti Te Rangitepaia Mataa Warbick (Rihanna)

LloydBest Dance Performance

Beyoncé, “Formation”

Drake, “Hotline Bling”

Kanye West (Dance Performance feat. Teyana Taylor) “Fade” — WINNER

Rihanna feat. Drake, “Work”

Usher feat. Young Thug, “No Limit”

Best Collaboration

Beyoncé feat. Kendrick Lamar, “Freedom”

Chance the Rapper feat. Lil Wayne and 2 Chainz, “No Problem”

DJ Khaled feat. Drake, “For Free”

Fat Joe & Remy Ma feat. French Montana and Infared, “All The Way Up” — WINNER

Rihanna feat. Drake, “Work”

Written By: Ronda Brooks

ronda brooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s